Naan Bread – baking instead of buying!

Naan1

I am a little bit of a cheapskate when it comes to buying Naan, we actually haven’t bought any in over a year because I can make better at home and not pay an arm and a leg! It is actually super easy, even if you do not have much experience with yeast dough. Just beware! After trying these babies store-bought Naan bread will taste like spiced cardboard to you!

If you have a stand mixer it is most convenient to make the dough with the hook attachment. I make it with the Kitchenaid. Funny anecdote: While the Kitchenaid Artisan Stand Mixer is present on most wedding registries, my family was surprised that I wanted one for my 30th Birthday. I mean, why would you wait with baking until you’re married? That is just crazy talk! – So I got the Kitchenaid for my birthday, my BFF and the dearest BF had collected money from everyone who seemed like they wanted to buy me something for this occasion and I ended up with the beautiful Ferrari Red limited edition. First time my dad came to visit he did this dad thing: “Na?? Are you using it often?” – Yes, I am. 🙂

Naan2

Naan Bread
(yield 15 breads)

  • 500 grams flour
  • 4 teaspoons yeast or 1 cube fresh yeast
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 250 grams plain yogurt
  • sesame seeds
  • garlic powder
  • cilantro

Instructions:

  1. Dissolve the yeast in a little bit of lukewarm milk.
  2. Mix all Ingredients in a mixing bowl. Add more milk if the dough looks too dry, it should be smooth and elastic.
  3. Transfer to a lightly greased bowl, cover with foil wrap and let rise for about 45 minutes or until doubled in bulk.
  4. Knead and divide the dough into about 15 small flatbreads. Preheat the oven.
  5. Mix a small amount of Olive Oil with sesame seeds and garlic powder. Lightly brush the breads with the seasoning – you can add some dried cilantro if you like.
  6. Bake at 200°C/390°F for 15 minutes.

ZIP IT!
Source: chefkoch.de

4 thoughts on “Naan Bread – baking instead of buying!

    • Thank you! They indeed are! I used to bake a lot of cakes and cookies and now I mostly bake rolls and scones. Good that Easter is coming up – a chance to bake and spread some treats!

    • Hello Erika!
      I usually shape the dough and freeze the breads separately on a cutting board or cookie sheet before putting them in a freezer bag.
      Then I can just bake them from frozen and add the oil/sesame on top.
      The oil gets weird when frozen.

      Enjoy baking!

Leave a Reply

