March Challenge: Project update!

Long time no see! 🙂 I don’t know if you knew but it turns out that sewing is a very expensive and time-consuming hobby! I started out with visiting my local quilt shop to look out for some cute fabric. If you are ever in the area, Virka is a great place with an amazing selection of fabrics. I am always totally overwhelmed when I look around.

I figured it would be good for me to sew something small and rewarding. These baby bibs are also curved so a great opportunity to learn something besides straight stitching. I used the Tutorial from Sew-Funky and it was really easy to understand and well described.

Baby bibs

Afterwards I found a piece of curtain and designed my own apron 🙂 Yes, I am very proud of that. I added pleats and pockets and everything. And an apron is only half a skirt anyways so I am halfway there! The pockets were also made of some fabric I found at Virka. I used it last christmas to sew little bags for gifts from the kitchen and had some scraps left.

Apron

I might have gotten a little ahead of myself in the Euphoria about my first “original design” and purchased a Burda easy dress sewing pattern… I opened the envelope and was so intimidated that I closed it right away. But I have another week for this challenge so I will take another look at it tomorrow in the fresh light of day.

So far I have learned that french braiding is a lot easier than sewing. 🙂 Sewing needs more preparation and takes a lot longer than I expected. – Hey, I knit, it takes longer to knit a sweater than to sew but still: instant gratification needed! Stay tuned for more sewing updates, I have also prepped 2 new recipes for you -> coming soon!

Leave a Reply

